When a new DWI client comes into our office for the first time, they are obviously usually very upset to find themselves in their current situation. One of the first things I tell them is that bad things happen to good people. A DWI offense is not an “intentional crime” or one that was intended. It is usually simply the result of just making a bad decision or rash judgement about one’s condition. Therefore, the crime of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol is committed by a very broad range of people from various professions and social classes. The purpose of posting this story about the Minnesota State Trooper getting arrested for DWI is simply to illustrate this point.
One report states that a police officers from South Lake Minnetonka Police Department (SLMPD) initially responded to a call of a hit-and-run property damage accident that occurred in St. Bonifacious. The reported car took off going east on Highway 7 and was spotted by the SLMPD officer in Shorewood. The damaged car was pulled over at around 11:30 pm in Highway 7 near Eureka Road.
The driver showed signs of driving while impaired and was subsequently arrested after he performed field sobriety tests. He was then identified by the arresting officer as a Minnesota State Trooper, and later consented to a urine test conducted at the SLPMPD headquarters. The result of the urine test is still pending, according to police.
The arrested trooper was off duty during his arrest and admitted to drinking alcohol after he was pulled over. According to police officers, the car he was driving was recently damaged.
The man was booked into the Hennepin County Adult Detention Center in Minneapolis and was released posting a bail of $3,000. He now faces one count of third degree DWI with an aggravating factor and one count of driving with BAC level above the legal limit.
What Is A Third Degree DWI?
However, even if an arrested driver had no prior DWI charges, he or she can still be charge with a third degree offense if the DWI violation involves one aggravating factor present at the time the offense is committed.
A third degree DWI can also be charged to a drunken driver who refuses to submit to a chemical test such as urine, blood or breath test. Refusal to comply with a chemical test carries a maximum penalty of imprisonment for one year, and a fine of up to $3,000.
Regardless of your social status in Minnesota, you must take a DWI charge seriously. You need to immediately contact a highly-competent Minnesota DWI Lawyer as soon as you’re arrested for DWI. Douglas T. Kans, a top Minnesota DWI attorney, is ready to provide you with the best legal representation possible in order to ensure the best possible resolution of your drunk driving charge. You can contact Kans Law Firm at (888) 972-6060 for a free case review.