Sources indicate, a 48-year-old man riding a motorized shopping cart in Walmart was arrested and charged with DUI, felony retail theft, and disorderly intoxication.
The shopping cart DWI episode took place earlier this week in a Walmart branch in Brooksville, Florida at around 9 p.m. The man removed an alcoholic beverage from a shelf and drove recklessly around the store, crashing into shelves and knocking items off them as he drank the beverage in his cart.
The man’s latest retail theft arrest was classified as a felony, as he had been arrested for retail theft two times before. The Florida man supposedly told the authorities he was merely a transient without money, and was therefore unable to recompense for the alcoholic beverage he took and consumed in Walmart. The man is currently in Hernando County Jail with a bond of $2,150.
DWI While Riding Unusual Motorized Vehicles
This incident, however, is not the only one involving drunk driving and an unusual motorized vehicle.
As we report very recently on this blog there was the man charge with DWI for riding his Segway with a BAC above the legal limit. A charge which he appealed and won with the Minnesota Court deciding that a Segway is not considered a motor vehicle and therefore not subject to MN DWI laws.
And who could forget last year, a rink attendant pleaded guilty to driving a Zamboni while drunk in Apple Valley’s Hayes Ice Arena. A Zamboni is a machine used to resurface ice in indoor skating rinks. The man’s blood alcohol content was 0.32 percent, which was four times over the state’s legal limit. Reports show that the man was charged with four counts of drunken driving in Dakota County District Court, although the man pleaded guilty to only one count after the three others were dismissed. He was also previously convicted of three DWIs.
The rink attendant was required to complete a chemical dependency evaluation, to attend a DWI program, and was sentenced to two years of probation. According to witnesses, the man was attempting to resurface the ice for Minnesota peewee hockey players, but was missing portions of the ice and running into boards around the rink.
MN DWI Penalties
A first time DWI offense in Minnesota, also known as fourth degree DWI, could lead up to 90 days behind bars and up to $1,000 in fines. Second and third degree DWIs are deemed gross misdemeanors, with maximum sentences of up to a year behind bars and up to $3,000 in fines. A felony or first degree DWI, however, carries a maximum sentence of up to seven years in jail and fines of up to $14,000.
A good DWI lawyer, however, can negotiate on your behalf for a more favorable outcome… and sometimes can even get the charges dropped. So if you are charged with DWI in the state of Minnesota, call the Kans Law Firm, LLC at (952) 835-6314 for a free consultation and case evaluation.