One of the possible consequences of a Minnesota DUI conviction is that you may be required to file an SR-22 insurance form before you can apply for the reinstatement of your suspended driver’s license and regain either full or limited driving privileges, depending on your situation.
As with all DWI related matters, it’s important to discuss this scenario with your Minnesota DWI lawyer and explore the options applicable for your specific situation. But for informational purposes, allow us to explain what exactly an SR-22 is, and why you might need it.
An SR-22 Affirms Your Financial Responsibility for Future Accidents
An SR-22 is an insurance certificate that may be required of individuals who were convicted of DWIs and other related crimes. The form is filed by your auto insurance provider and is meant to prove your financial responsibility through a sufficient and existing liability insurance policy you have with that provider.
If required, you are to maintain an SR-22 insurance policy for three years or longer, depending on the factors of your conviction.
There are three types of SR-22 forms that may apply:
- An Operator’s Certificate for when do not own a vehicle
- An Owner’s Certificate for vehicles you own
- An Operators-Owners Certificate for owned and non-owned vehicles that you may use
Where to Get SR-22 Insurance Policy?
You can approach your auto insurance provider first, but they may not always specialize on SR-22s or charge higher premiums than others. And because you’re required to carry it for at least three years, it’s a good idea to find the lowest insurance rates you can find and save some money. Shop around and ask for quotes from state-authorized providers. There’s a good chance your Minnesota DWI attorney has some good recommendations as well.
When looking around, remember Minnesota’s minimum liability requirements or the 30/60/10 rule: $30,000 coverage for one person’s death or injury per accident; $60,00 for two or more people per accident; and, $10,000 coverage for property damage per accident.
Once you settle on an insurance agency, pay the processing fee and wait for the agency to send the proper request to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 30 days. If your request is approved, you will receive the SR-22 form from the agency and a letter from the DPS stating the details of your SR-22.
Important: Never Let Your SR-22 to Lapse
Your insurance provider is required by law to immediately notify the DPS if your SR-22 coverage lapses, after which your license will be revoked and you will be required to repeat the SR-22 filing process all over again. I know of some cases where it only a took a single day of lapsed coverage for it to be reported and the license revoked. There are also instances where a re-filed SR-22 meant starting on the three-year minimum period all over again.
That’s a whole lot of money, time and effort down the drain, and there’s also the risk of getting a traffic stop before knowing about your suspended insurance and license and facing additional charges on top of everything else. Any DUI attorney in Minneapolis will advise you to stay on top of your premium payments at least two months in advance to avoid this from happening.
Final Words of Advice
If you have been convicted with a DWI, one of the most important discussions you’re going to have with your attorney is the SR-22 issue. To be sure, the process isn’t as simple as we would like, but you’ll soon find that it’s in your best interest to submit to it if you wish to regain your driving privileges as soon as possible.
Also, there will be significant changes to applying for license reinstatement after a DWI conviction given the July 1 enforcement of new DWI laws on the use of ignition interlock devices. If you haven’t already, read up on our comprehensive primer on the new Ignition Interlock Laws.
Charged with a DWI in Minnesota? Call the Kans Law Firm, LLC at (952) 835-6314 for a free case review.